Staying Up Late

It’s 4:30 in the morning and I just returned home from my PennDesign studio, where I had been working since before noon today.  It seems to be the unwritten law in college architecture programs that students live in a state of chronic sleep deprivation.  I knew this going into the Penn program but vowed – naively – to be the exception to such a torturous policy.  It was my  plan to operate more like my good friend Jayson, an architectural designer in Austin.

According to Jayson, when he was enrolled in the architecture program at the University of Houston (this was years ago) he pulled very few all-nighters and did the bare minimum of work.  While the other students were spending countless hours working on projects at school, Jayson was interning at real firms.  At graduation, most of Jayon’s class didn’t even know who he was, but with his real-life work experience he was offered some of the best jobs and highest salaries of any of his classmates.

So that was my plan – to be like Jayson and not spend the next three years of my life making models for teacher’s approval.

“A plan is just a list of things that don’t happen.”

 

As of today I really enjoy being in studio.  I love what I’m learning, I love what I’m doing.  I feel lucky to have the opportunity to stay up all night long working on cool creative projects and learning the way of landscape architecture.  I wish I didn’t have to eat or sleep so I could just stay there around the clock.  Perhaps I’ll feel differently in a couple months, but right now I have no problem coming home at 4:30 in the morning, catching four hours of sleep and leaving at 9 am to meet a guest professor at Bartram’s Garden.  This is the good life, I appreciate it.

Now if I could only do something about that mouse I hear scratching around in the kitchen…

What do you think?

